1996 Re-Mastered - international re-master (2011)

1996 Re-Mastered

1996 Re-Mastered is Ryuichi Sakamoto's '1996' album (from the same year) remastered and including a bonus track, 'Self Portrait'.

"The album 1996 contains 12 pieces arranged for violin (Everton Nelson, David Nadien, or Barry Finclair), cello (Jaques Morelenbaum), and piano (Ryuichi Sakamoto), including both new compositions and music used in the soundtracks to The Last Emperor, Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence, The Sheltering Sky, and High Heels. The music is for the most part restrained and reflective, as Sakamoto makes use of the contrasting timbres of the chamber instrumentation, mixing melodic and rhythmic effects soothingly (the exceptions being the more quick-moving "M.A.Y. in the Backyard" and "1919," which uses a barely audible voice and staccato playing to stirring effect)." -allmusic.com

01. A Day a Gorilla Gives a Banana
02. Rain
03. Bibo No Aozora
04. The Last Emperor
05. 1919
06. Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence
07. M.A.Y. in The Backyard
08. The Sheltering Sky
09. A Tribute to N.J.P.
10. High Heels (Main Theme)
11. Aoneko no Torso
12. The Wuthering Heights
13. Parolibre
14. Acceptance (End Credit) - Little Buddha
15. Before Long
16. Self Portrait